I bake, therefore I am

Baking, it’s my favorite kind of technical chemistry.  I failed a semester of science in my freshman year of high school, maybe she should have asked us to measure and mix together things like flour, baking soda, butter, sugar and chocolate chips.  Anyway, one of the best parts to making homemade goodies are the reactions from people.  They often get nostalgic, with eyes rolling back in their heads, they moan words along the lines of, “This is just like my grandmother used to make.”  I love that, for a few seconds they are transported to a place and time when they were blissfully content.  Then I get to hear a personal story that creates a warm and fuzzy moment.

Today, I want to bake something I haven’t made before.  I was tooling around the Bakerella website looking for a cupcake recipe, then got lost in the world of beautiful and seriously yummy looking goodies.  She’s amazing and so is her website, if you’ve never seen it, check it out.  I’m still not sure what I’m going to bake today, something chocolate I think, but I’m also wanting to make something new, like buttery yellow cake… with chocolate frosting naturally.

There was a yellow cake recipe on the Bakerella site, but I’m not partial to wrapping cake in plastic wrap, and refrigerating it.  That equals wait time and how anyone does that is beyond me.  Plus, I’m kind of wanting something warm, possibly with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side.  Apple cobbler comes to mind, and how it makes the house smell impossibly perfect with cinnamon and apple.  But there’s no chocolate in that.  I believe I’m on the hunt for a warm, chocolatey treat because a week or so ago I was nuts for chocolate lava cake, only, turns out, I don’t really like lava cake.  It’s hot cake batter, not bad, but not what I want.  When I hear lava, I think of rivers of hot fudge, smooth, thick, chocolatey.  Sigh.

I could make the tried and true, triple chocolate brownies, but that’s not new.  Conundrum.  I’m going back to perusing the web for a recipe that calls to me.  In the meantime, what’s your favorite baked dessert and is there a story to go with it?

7 thoughts on “I bake, therefore I am

  1. emjayandthem

    I just wrote an entire post about pie … and making room for it.

    You had me at “Anyway, one of the best parts to making homemade goodies are the reactions from people.” That is exactly the reason I love to cook …. for others .. and their reactions 🙂

    My favorite baked dessert is my Grandmother’s Chocolate cake with caramel frosting … to die for,
    MJ

    Reply
  2. Elouise Jasperse

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

    Reply
  3. Terri Porrino

    I am a recipe collector. I have hundreds of cookbooks, a recipe card box, and binders full of recipes I’ve taken from magazines and the internet. However, I am very particular about my cookbooks. They must include tantalizing color photos of the finished dish so I know what I’m shooting for. I have a handful of cookbooks with no photos and I never refer to them because they feel so dull and lifeless. I try new recipes all the time and test them out on family (and whatever friends are present). We then notate the recipe with a smiley face (meets everyone’s approval; we will cook and/or eat it again), a neutral face (average, not horrible, but generally not worth the effort expended), or a sad face (yuk! bleh! never make that again!). We also add notes to adjust the recipes for future versions: “potatoes instead of parsnips”, “halve the spinach”. Although I have many cookbooks, I tend to gravitate toward a particular half dozen or so for tried and true favorites. These books are recognizable by their peeling covers, loose spines, and food splatter stains. I love researching new recipes for theme parties and holidays, and I seem to go into a cooking frenzy when the seasons change. I recently tried a new recipe for Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake. While shopping at BJ’s, I mentioned to my husband that I needed flour. He picked up a two pack of 10 pound bags. When I said I only needed a few cups, he rationalized the 20 pound purchase by reminding me that “Christmas is coming.” Yes, I do go a little overboard on the holiday baking. 🙂

    Reply
    1. serenitywriter Post author

      Hi Terri – I know what you mean about a cookbook that includes photos. I don’t care what people think, I like the photos, I like the brief stories and I especially enjoy the history of foods. Really, we can’t live without it right? So it makes sense that people make the foods they like, even love, and enjoy them with people they love. A twenty pound bag of flour eh? Smart move on his part I say. Thank you for the great comment. cheers, Jess

      Reply
  4. Darlene

    I love to bake as well. There is an real pleasure in assembling the ingredients, putting them together in the right order, popping it in the oven and presenting the end product to eager appetities. Sounds kind of like writing a book! Here is one of my favourites and always a crowd pleaser (even for glutton intolerant friends, family and co-workers)
    AUSTRALIAN APPLE CHOCOLATE CAKE
    4 eggs separated
    115 g/4 oz sugar
    115g/4oz plain chocolate melted
    1 dessert apple, peeled, cored and grated
    115g/4 oz ground almonds

    Preheat oven to 350 F and oil a 20cm/8 inch spring form pan
    Beat the egg yolks with the sugar until light and fluffy.
    Mix in chocolate, apple and almonds
    Beat the egg whites until stiff and fold them into the mixture.
    Pour into prepared cake pan and bake for about 45 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean.
    Remove the cake from the pan and leave to cool on a wire rack.
    Serve with a dollop of whipped cream and a thin slice of apple if desired.
    Enjoy!!

    Reply
  5. serenitywriter Post author

    Hi Darlene, thank you for stopping by sharing a bit of about yourself and for leaving this great recipe. It sounds delicious. I’ll be by your site soon. Cheers, Jess

    Reply

Leave a Reply

