My choice for favorite story for young children

Years ago a co-worker gave me a copy of “The Van Gogh Cafe”, by Cynthia Rylant to read to my daughter.  I’ve kept it ever since, and have enjoyed reading it to my other children.  It’s a magical story.

A slim volume, 64 pages, “The Van Gogh Cafe” tells of the lives of cafe owner Marc and his ten year old daughter, Clara, in Flowers, Kansas.  Each chapter is an amazing thread to a beautifully woven story.  I won’t give anything away here.  I will say that it was an excellent choice to be read aloud while on a road trip, each kid was held spellbound for the entire length of the book.

What made me think of this?  I glanced at the title of another blog, “Every Child is Entitled to Innocence” by Darlene Foster, which led me think of which young readers book struck me as engaging, and thoroughly beautiful in it’s simple innocence without a trace of cloying aftertaste?  I immediately thought of “The Van Gogh Cafe”.  I recommend it.  Also, if you’re interested in children’s books, and helping them out at the same time, check out Darlene’s blog, darlenefosterWordpress.com to read about a program aimed to do good works for children around the world.

3 thoughts on “My choice for favorite story for young children

  1. Darlene

    “The Van Gough Cafe” sounds like a wonderful book for children. The great thing about reading books with our children is that we are left with special memories! Thanks for mentioning my blog post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

