The Next Big Thing

Author Linda Cassidy Lewis, tagged me to answer these questions about my work in progress. This author meme is called The Next Big Thing. Please read Linda’s responses about, An Illusion of Trust, her next big thing here,

http://lindacassidylewis.com/2013/03/15/the-next-big-thing/

What is the working title of your next book?  I’ve been calling this story, the first in a trilogy, Book of Rachel – Requiem Dreams.

Where did the idea come from for the book?  I had an incredibly vivid dream of the story and near the end of that dream, I saw myself at my desk with a woman standing over me telling me to, ‘write this story down’.  I’ve felt awkward about this fact until I read that Stephen King got the idea for Misery in a dream, and so I figured it probably happens fairly often.

What genre does your book fall under?  The genre for this story is Young Adult Fiction.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?  I’ve seen Maisie Williams playing Arya Stark in Game of Thrones, and she could breathe life into Rachel which, to me, is worth far more than finding a mirror image of the character I have in my mind.

I would also love to see Rachel Weiss play the mother,  Jane.  Jane grew up in Great Britain, she’s beautiful and she mistakes her unbending, over controlling behavior as concern for her daughter.  I haven’t seen everything Ms. Weiss has done, but she often plays a woman who is fiercely determined and kind, which Jane has under layers of ice as it were.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  Rachel Maclean hides the fact that she has precognitive nightmares in a desperate bid to avoid being sent back to where they started.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?  My book is in the final polishing stages and I’m creating a query letter to send to potential agents.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?  I’d say it took about nine months to a year for me to write out a complete first draft.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?  I’ve made a point to avoid reading stories that sound even remotely similar to my own.  The only exception is a newly released story called Pivot Point by Kasie West, where the main character has the ability to see two possible future outcomes and is able to choose one.  I read this story because Kasie and I were in the same writer’s group a few years back and I always enjoyed her work.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?  Life is a huge inspiration, but I also haven’t forgotten the woman in the dream telling me to write the story down.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?  There’s a bevy of things to enjoy in this story: an outspoken best friend, a sweet boyfriend, and a paranormal gift Rachel has had for as long as she can remember.  Add to that an unethical psychiatrist, and a worldwide pharmaceautical corporation who think they’ve created a drug that brings about precognition and will be worth billions.

I’ve had the pleasure of reading the work of the two authors I’ve tagged,

Mariam Kobras, author of The Distant Shore, and, Under The Same Sun.

http://mariamkobras.blogspot.com/

Sam Hilliard, author of The Last Track

http://www.samhilliard.com/wordpress/

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

Leave a Reply

